George Strait, Dolly Parton, Lainey Wilson & More Honor Tom Petty On New Tribute Album

Michael Putland / Contributor / Getty Images

Just Announced: A Tom Petty tribute album featuring country music’s biggest stars is on the way

The music of the iconic American rockstar Tom Petty will be reimagined with a country twist. This week, it was announced that a new tribute album titled Petty Country: A Country Music Celebration of Tom Petty is in the works and is set to release on May 31, 2024.

Cover Art Courtesy of BMLG

Petty Country has a star-studded lineup of contributors

Some of the biggest names in both classic and modern country music are coming together to celebrate the work of the late musician. Country legends George Strait and Dolly Parton will share their renditions of “You Wreck Me” and “Southern Accents,” respectively. CMA Entertainer of the Year, Lainey Wilson, will join forces with Wynonna Judd for the fan-favorite anthem “Refugee.”

First track from Petty Country released

Along with the announcement, the first track from the forthcoming tribute album was released. It is Dierks Bentley’s take on the beloved song “American Girl.” Bentley expressed his excitement for being included on the project:

“When you get asked to reimagine one of the greatest rock & roll songs of all time by one of the most iconic American musicians of all time, the first thing you do is call up some of the greatest acoustic pickers of all time for the assist!”


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by Dierks Bentley (@dierksbentley)

Listen to “American Girl” by Dierks Bentley below! 

Petty Country complete tracklist:

“I Should Have Known It” – Chris Stapleton

“Wildflowers” – Thomas Rhett

“Runnin’ Down a Dream” – Luke Combs

“Southern Accents” – Dolly Parton

“Here Comes My Girl” – Justin Moore

“American Girl” – Dierks Bentley

“Stop Draggin’ My Heart Around” – Lady A

“I Forgive It All” – Jamey Johnson

“I Won’t Back Down” – Brothers Osborne

“Refugee” – Wynonna Judd & Lainey Wilson

“Angel Dream #2” – Willie Nelson and Lukas Nelson

“Learning to Fly” – Eli Young Band

“Breakdown” – Ryan Hurd featuring Carly Pearce

“Yer So Bad” – Steve Earle

“Ways to Be Wicked” – Margo Price and Mike Campbell

“Mary Jane’s Last Dance” – Midland

“Free Fallin’” – The Cadillac Three featuring Breland

“I Need To Know” – Marty Stuart And His Fabulous Superlatives

“Don’t Come Around Here No More” – Rhiannon Giddens featuring Benmont Tench

“You Wreck Me” – George Strait