Carrie Underwood Leads Nominations For Huge Awards Show

Facebook/Carrie Underwood

The music industry is changing more than ever and with streaming sites becoming more and more popular, it’s no surprise that they have their own awards shows!

iHeartRadio emerged on the scene in 2008 as a music recommender system and radio network that allows music fans to listen to their favorite radio programs online or on their phone. In 2011, they began holding the iHeartRadio Music Festival, a two-day music festival held in Las Vegas, which features musicians and artists from all different genres.

The company held the inaugural awards show in 2014 which is meant to recognize the most popular artists and music over the previous year, as determined by the listeners. This year’s iHeartRadio Music Awards will be held on March 5 at The Forum in Inglewood, California and will include some of your favorite country stars!

Carrie Underwood leads the country pack with two nominations for Country Artist of the Year and Country Song of the Year for “Church Bells”. Luke Bryan, who is the only country artist nominated for Male Artist of the year, Thomas Rhett and Cole Swindell also join her with two nominations each. Blake Shelton is nominated for the fan voted award Best Lyrics for “Came Here To Forget”.

Fan voting will determine this year’s awards for Best Lyrics, Best Cover Song, Best Music Video, Social Star Award, Best Collaboration, Best Song From A Movie, Best Underground Alternative Band, and Taco Bell Best Fan Army. You can vote for each of those categories here.

While we wish there were more country categories, we wish all of the nominees the best of luck! Who do you think should win each award? Sound off in the comments section and see all the country nominees below!

Country Song of the Year:
–    “Church Bells” –  Carrie Underwood
–    “Snapback” –  Old Dominion
–    “Somewhere On A Beach” –  Dierks Bentley
–    “T-Shirt” – Thomas Rhett
–    “You Should Be Here” – Cole Swindell

Country Artist of the Year:
–    Carrie Underwood
–    Jason Aldean
–    Keith Urban
–    Luke Bryan
–    Thomas Rhett

Best New Country Artist: (New Category)
–    Chris Lane
–    Chris Stapleton
–    Granger Smith
–    Kelsea Ballerini
–    Maren Morris

Male Artist of the Year: 
–    Drake
–    Justin Bieber
–    Luke Bryan
–    Shawn Mendes
–    The Weeknd

Best Lyrics: *Socially Voted Category
–    “7 Years” – Lukas Graham
–    “Came Here to Forget” – Blake Shelton
–    “Cheap Thrills” – Sia featuring Sean Paul
–    “Closer” – The Chainsmokers featuring Halsey
–    “Heathens” – twenty one pilots
–    “Love Yourself” – Justin Bieber
–    “Scars To Your Beautiful” – Alessia Cara
–    “Send My Love (To Your New Lover)” – Adele
–    “Too Good” – Drake featuring Rihanna
–    “You Should Be Here” – Cole Swindell

Best Cover Song: *Socially Voted Category
–    “All I Ask” – Bruno Mars
–    “Ex’s and Oh’s” – Fifth Harmony
–    “Fast Car” – Justin Bieber
–    “Hands to Myself” – DNCE
–    “Here” – Shawn Mendes
–    “How Will I Know” – Ariana Grande
–    “Love on the Brain” – Kelly Clarkson
–    “Purple Rain” – Jennifer Hudson and the cast of The Color Purple
–    “Sound of Silence” – Disturbed
–    “Too Good” – Zara Larsson