CMT Music Awards Announce Winner For Performance Of The Year

(Left) Christopher Polk/Getty Images/(Center) Terry Wyatt/Getty Images/ (Right) Rick Diamond/Getty Images

The CMT Music Awards were brimming with southern talent and country pride as stars were recognized for their admirable achievements. However, it was the Performance of the Year category that not only addressed stellar country artists, but also identified entertainers from other genres that teamed up with their twanging partners for performances that were deemed unforgettable.

While country star Jason Aldean was the only artist nominated for a solo performance, the crooner wowed his fans with his former performance of “Hicktown” during the CMT Concert of the Summer. The fiery number had fans at the edge of their seats, soaking in Aldean’s passionate talent and redneck lyrics! Competing against Aldean for the winning title were country stars Darius Rucker and Luke Bryan, eager for the recognition after their thrilling duets were anything but simply enjoyed.

Rucker was given the opportunity to team up with rock and roller John Mellencamp for a jaw dropping duet of his classic hit “Pink Houses”. Following the trend of partnering up with artists of other genres, Bryan joined the stage with pop sensation Jason Derulo to flawlessly cover the pop star’s hit “Want You To Want Me” at the CMT Crossroads. However, the partner performances didn’t end there, as Maren Morris‘ epic duet of “80s Mercedes” alongside Alicia Keys was also nominated for the coveted win.

Performing as a trio, Kelsea Ballerini was nominated in light of her killer set with Jill Scott and Meghan Trainor during their Shania Twain tribute, in addition to Thomas Rhett and his team up with Nick Jonas and Danielle Bradbury for an unforgettable performance of “Close”. Yet, despite the endless amount of talent, only one act was able to win.

Fans were elated to see the winners of the coveted award go to Bryan and Derulo for their hip-shakin’ performance of “Want You to Want Me!”

You can watch their award-winning performance below!