2017 CMT Music Awards Hands Out Breakthrough Video Of The Year

Michael Tran/FilmMagic/Getty Images|Matt Winkelmeyer/Getty Images|Rick Diamond/Getty Images

The CMT Music Awards have officially begun and they started out with a bang! Nashville star and Whose Line Is It Anyway alum Charles Esten delivered a gut-busting monologue, where he used both his comedic and musical talents to his full potential.

As it was time to hand out awards, all eyes pointed to five rising country stars who have had the year of their life. The Breakthrough Video of the Year may not be the biggest award of the night, but it certainly means a lot. Past winners include Chris Stapleton, Luke Bryan, Dierks Bentley, Carrie Underwood, Taylor Swift, Zac Brown Band, and Florida Georgia Line, who have all gone on to be superstars. If the trend continues, the winner of this award will have a long and successful career in country music.

According to CMT’s website, the Breakthrough Video of the Year category “consists of a video from an artist’s major breakthrough album.”

Each of the artists nominated are extremely deserving of being in the category, and we’re not sure how fans just chose one video to win – they were all great!

The nominees are listed below.

“In Case You Didn’t Know” – Brett Young

“Dirt On My Boots” – Jon Pardi

“Used to Love You Sober” – Kane Brown

“Road Less Traveled” – Lauren Alaina

“Hurricane” – Luke Combs

“Love Triangle” – RaeLynn

Country legend Reba McEntire presented the award and the crowd went wild when she announced Lauren Alaina as the winner.

With the look of shock on her face, Alaina walked to the stage to accept the Breakthrough Video award and thanked her fans, her team, and Jesus profusely.

“Reba McEntire just handed me an award!” she exclaimed during her speech

Congrats to Lauren Alaina on this huge win! Watch her acceptance speech below, and her award-winning video for “Road Less Traveled” under that.