ACM Award For Duo Of The Year Goes To…

ACM Awards / Instagram

The 57th Annual Academy of Country Music Awards are well underway. Taking place at Allegiant Stadium in Las Vegas, the show has been exclusively streamed on Amazon Prime Video, and is being hosted by Dolly Parton, along with co-hosts Jimmie Allen and Gabby Barrett.

Many awards are given out, with the most coveted being Entertainer of the Year. This year, only solo artists have been nominated in this category, Duo Of The Year and Group Of The Year are the only categories for…well, duos and groups.

This year, the nominees include Brooks & Dunn, Locash, Maddie & Tae, Brothers Osborne, and Dan + Shay.

Guy Torrey and Tom Pelphrey presented the award for Duo Of The Year. The envelope was ripped open and Brothers Osborne would take home the award!

Brothers Osborne has taken home this award in 2017, 2018, and have been nominated from 2019 – 2021. The award those years went to Dan + Shay. In 2022, Brothers Osborne took back the award thanks to the success of their album Skeletons and the singles it produced “All Night” and “I’m Not for Everyone.”

This marks the first time an openly gay artist has won this award. Brothers Osborne member TJ Osborne came out as gay in February 2021.

After John thanked his wife, dog, family, friends, and more, TJ said, “About a week ago, they pulled our single from country radio, so I needed a little wind put in our sails.”

He was talking about their single “I’m Not For Everyone,” which hit number 33 on Billboard‘s Country Airplay chart on March 5. It had been on the chart for 43 weeks, but is not on the chart dated March 12.

Congrats to Brothers Osborne…watch their acceptance speech below.