CMT Music Awards Breakthrough Video Of The Year Award Winner Announced

The 2019 CMT Music Awards are underway at Bridgestone Arena in Nashville. The event is considered one of the highlights of the iconic CMA Week that allows fans to get up close and personal with their favorite country artists.

The CMT Music Awards is an opportunity for fans to show their love as it is the only fan-voted awards show of its kind. During Wednesday night’s live show, the award for Breakthrough Video of the Year was handed out. The award highlights the best video from an artist’s major breakthrough album and can be awarded to a male, female, group or duo. In field jam-packed with dynamite videos, seven emerged as nominees. They are:

Ashley McBryde – “Girl Goin’ Nowhere (At Marathon Music Works)”
Jimmie Allen – “Best Shot”
Jordan Davis – “Take It From Me”
Mitchell Tenpenny – “Drunk Me”
Morgan Wallen – “Whiskey Glasses”
Runaway June – “Buy My Own Drinks”
Tenille Townes – “Somebody’s Daughter

While the Breakthrough Video of the Year award isn’t considered the biggest of the night, it can certainly be used as a stepping stone for new artists. Past winners include Chris Stapleton, Luke Bryan, Dierks Bentley, Carrie Underwood, Taylor Swift, Zac Brown Band, and Florida Georgia Line, who have all gone on to become country music superstars.

Hunter Hayes and last year’s winner Carly Pearce took the stage to name the winner of the coveted award.The crowd went wild when Ashley McBryde was named as this year’s winner.


Congratulations to Ashley McBryde on her well-deserved win. Watch her winning music video below.