Oliver Anthony Announces Debut Album ‘Hymnal Of A Troubled Man’s Mind’

Oliver Anthony Music / Instagram

Surprise! The “Rich Men North of Richmond” Singer shocked fans by announcing his debut album, Hymnal Of A Troubled Man’s Mind.

Amidst a whirlwind of success, including his chart-topping hit “Rich Men North of Richmond,” which debuted at No. 1 on the Billboard Hot 100 last year, Oliver Anthony recently embarked on his Out of the Woods Tour that commenced last month and is scheduled to span until September.

Amidst his world tour, Anthony shared earlier this month that he had finished working on his new album, which he began recording “in an old church in Georgia.”

Release Date

Set to release on Easter Sunday (March 31), a holiday symbolizing the resurrection of Jesus Christ, the album carries added significance for Oliver Anthony, known for his devout religious beliefs. He often incorporates readings from the Bible into his performances, further reflecting his faith.

His new album will feature a 10-song collection, including several of Anthony’s previously-released songs, including “I Want to Go Home,” “I’ve Got to Get Sober,” and “Doggonit,” along with spoken-word Gospel interludes. Additionally, the album will introduce one new song titled “Momma’s Been Hurting.”

Hymnal Of A Troubled Man’s Mind will offer an autobiographical journey, diving into the ten years of Oliver Anthony’s life before his sudden rise to fame last year.

In a recent social media post, Anthony explains this by saying he felt it was his responsibility to give these songs the completion they deserve.

“This album represents the most pure and transparent view inside my heart and soul that I could offer. While Richmond was the song that got my name out in the public, these songs represent the true foundation of the music that got me through life up until now…I felt that it was my responsibility to give a handful of my early written songs the completion they deserve. Now, I can begin releasing my most recent work without feeling like I skipped an important step.”

Full Tracklist Unveiled

The complete tracklist for Hymnal Of A Troubled Man’s Mind unfolds Anthony’s life story from 2013 to 2023.

1. “Rich Man’s Gold”
2. “Doggonit”
3. “I’ve Got to Get Sober”
4. “Cobwebs and Cocaine”
5. “Hell on Earth”
6. “I Want to Go Home”
7. “Feeling Purdy Good”
8. “Always Love You Like a Good Old Dog”
9. “VCR Kid”
10. “Momma’s Been Hurting”

Viral Breakthrough

Anthony catapulted into the spotlight when a video of him performing his original song, “Rich Men North of Richmond,” went viral in August 2023. The original video has since amassed over 123 million views on YouTube alone.

RELATED: Oliver Anthony’s Manager Shares Thoughts On His Viral Fame

He has since had the opportunity to perform at iconic venues like the Grand Ole Opry and the Ryman Auditorium.

“I owe everything to you,” Anthony captioned a video of him traveling on his tour bus. “We are playing sold out shows. Was able to rent a bus through July so I can bring my family along. Life feels good right now. Hope to meet you on the road.”

Sold-Out Easter Concert

In addition to the release of his new album, the viral sensation is set to perform a concert on Easter at Beacon Hill Church in Hopewell, Virginia. All proceeds from the event will support Beacon Hill Church’s ministry.

Anthony’s Easter concert at Beacon Hill Church sold out in less than 5 hours.

Although tickets for the event are sold out, you can still catch the concert via a free livestream on Oliver Anthony’s social media channels. Additionally, if you’d like to support the church, you can donate directly through their platform here.

Mark your calendars for Easter Sunday to catch Oliver Anthony’s concert and be among the first to listen to his new album!

In the meantime, listen to Oliver Anthony’s “Doggonit” below.